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Unclaimed cash 
State tries to reunite people with their money 
 
MONTPELIER – In a New York Lottery television commercial, a man 
screams "money" as bundles of bills fall from the sky. 
 
 
Vermont has money to give out as well – a 
whopping $37 million. But the millions 
available through the Unclaimed Property 
Division of the State Treasurer's Office 
attract more idle curiosity than shrieks of 
excitement. 
 
At a recent Burlington exposition, State 
Treasurer Jeb Spaulding helped Vermonters 
check a database to see if they were owed 
money. The unclaimed millions are also 
featured on radio commercials, newspaper 
inserts, the Champlain Valley Fair annually 
and the Yankee Sportsman Classic, in direct 
mailings and passed along in lists of names to legislators and town 
clerks as the Unclaimed Property Division tries to create a buzz and do 
its job of returning money. 
 
Currently, the Vermont treasury holds financial property, such as 
insurance policies, paychecks, child support payments, some 
unredeemed gift cards and tax refunds owed to Vermonters by 
Vermont companies or the state. The investment of these funds 
currently earns the state about $1 million annually in interest – 
$217,000 more than the cost to operate the four-employee, paper 
heavy Unclaimed Property Division. 
 
"It's really their money sitting in the state treasury, and it's our job to 
get it back to them," Spaulding said. 
 
And the state has plenty to give. The money available spiked in 2004 
and if Spaulding gets his way, it will soon spike again. 

 
 

State Treasurer Jeb Spaulding and 
state unclaimed property 
technician Linda Bouffard look 
over a chart depicting the amount 
of unclaimed property the state 
has managed over the years. 
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Spaulding is trying to get $26 million in unclaimed, matured U.S. 
savings bonds out of the hands of the U.S. Treasury and added to 
states' lists of property to be claimed. Nationally, 33 million matured 
but unredeemed savings bonds totaling $14 billion reside with a U.S. 
Treasury that has neither the capacity nor the incentive to do outreach 
as his office does, Spaulding said. 
 
State statute requires all Vermont businesses to report unclaimed or 
dormant funds each year to the Treasurer's Office. 
 
A law change in fiscal year 2003 clarified when and how to send the 
unclaimed money to Vermont's treasury and the following year, the 
state saw a spike in property turned over, primarily from two national 
insurance companies, Prudential Financial and MetLife. 
 
Those companies had been mutual companies, but converted to being 
publicly traded. 
 
"For business reasons over the last decade, they have converted to 
stock companies," Spaulding said. When they did, policy holders 
became shareholders as well. When those unclaimed shares were 
turned over to the state in 2004 following the state law change, the 
unclaimed property the state collected leaped from $3 million in 2003 
to $19.2 million in 2004. Consequently, the state handed out $6.48 
million in more than 7,800 claims to Vermonters in the fiscal year 
ending June 30, 2005, up from an average $1.88 million to 2,867 
claimants the prior four years. 
 
The state, which returns a little more money collected, 45 percent, 
than the 40 percent national average, still has $37 million to give out, 
plus some actual property. 
 
Many do confuse unclaimed property with abandoned cars and homes, 
but the only actual property the state division collects are safety 
deposit boxes, said Al LaPerle, the state's unclaimed property 
coordinator. 
 
Their contents are stored in a state vault, and are often interesting. 
 
One box from a Woodstock bank contained scrapbooks of rare artwork, 
letters and autographs from renowned artists and musicians, which the 
state was able to reunite with its owner. Another box contained a 
Cadbury Creme Egg, LaPerle said. Coins, $2 bills and jewelry are more 



common than candy. 
 
Getting cash and items back to the rightful owners usually takes just 
days to a couple of weeks. The form the state sends to claimants is 
quick and easy to fill out, but requires proof of identity and a notary's 
signature for amounts over $200. 
 
The average claim last year was $982, but that's because one claim 
totaled more than $400,000. Typical claims are $200 and $300, 
unclaimed property technician Linda Bouffard said. 
 
While determining legitimate claimants and heirs can be challenging, 
handing out $200 checks isn't exactly a bad job. When the division 
sets up its booth annually at the Champlain Valley Fair, many 
Treasurer's Office employees volunteer to man the booth. 
 
"Everyone likes to give away free money," LaPerle said. 
 
And while claimants are not screaming "money" they are happy to be 
getting some. 
 
"For the most part, people are pretty excited and glad to be calling" to 
make a claim, Bouffard said. 
 
Spaulding will ask the Legislature this year to make the job even 
easier by allowing flexibility in how unclaimed property is advertised. 
That's likely to mean more general radio ads and fewer newspaper 
printings. Some claims could disappear, however. Spaulding wants 
legislators to allow the state to turn over unclaimed property valued at 
less than $100 and on the books for 10 years or more to a higher 
education trust fund for college scholarships for Vermonters. 
 
While he acknowledged $75, for example, would be significant to many 
Vermonters, bogging down the system and creating a paper jam are 
smaller $5 and $10 amounts with which their owners don't want to 
bother. One woman recently told the division to give her $30 to 
charity. The office can't legally give away the woman's money, so it 
sits on the books. 
 
Bouffard said most people now are finding their claims through the 
state's Web site, www.vermonttreasurer.gov, or through a national 
Web site, www.missingmoney.com, which links 40 states' unclaimed 
property databases together on one site. Money owed to Vermonters 
from businesses in other states does not appear on Vermont's Web 



site but is likely to appear on the national site. Spaulding encouraged 
anyone who has lived outside of Vermont or who know out-of-state 
heirs to check the national site. 
 
Collecting owed money is free through the state. What are known as 
"heir-finders" or "asset locators" often call those with unclaimed 
property offering to help locate the money for a fee. In Vermont, those 
companies can only legally charge 10 percent of the claim, but LaPerle 
noted that all those companies actually do is request the same claim 
form the state provides for free. 
 
Go online or call the state at 828-2407 or 1-800-642-3191 for a claim 
form or more information. 


