
Office of the State Treasurer
Unclaimed Property Division

Businesses Play Key Role in Success 
of Unclaimed Property Program
The Treasurer’s Office could not return funds to the rightful owner if it 
did not receive lost or unclaimed property from the holders of the prop-
erty. Typical holders of unclaimed property include financial institutions, 
employers, utility companies, insurance companies, retailers, corporations 
and governmental agencies throughout the United States. Vermont’s firms 
have largely complied, on a voluntary basis, with State statutes relative to 
unclaimed property. The Unclaimed Property Division collected approxi-
mately $9.62 million in unclaimed property in fiscal year 2013. 

What is Unclaimed Property?
	      Unclaimed property can be divided into two categories: securities-related 
property and general ledger property. Examples of general ledger property include 
wages, account credits, uncashed checks, utility deposits, patient refunds, and insur-
ance proceeds. Securities-related types of unclaimed property include stocks, dividend 
payments, interest, and bonds.

Vermont’s Unclaimed Property Law Provisions
	      The Vermont Unclaimed Property Act (V.S.A. Title 27, Chapter 14) pro-
tects unclaimed property until it is returned to its rightful owners or their heirs. The 
Vermont State Treasurer acts as custodian of the property and administers a program 
to locate the owners. Once reported to the Unclaimed Property Division, unclaimed 
property is available for refunds to the owners or their heirs. Businesses and other or-
ganizations are required by law to review their records each year to determine whether 
they hold any funds, securities, or other property that have remained unclaimed for 
the required abandonment period. Holders file an annual report and transfer the 
property to the State. The holding period before property is considered unclaimed 
varies by the type of property. Businesses must report unclaimed property to the State 
of Vermont if:

•	 The owner’s last known address is in the State of Vermont;

•	 The address of the owner is unknown and Vermont is the state of incorporation;

•	 The property is not reportable to another state and the property transaction took place in 
Vermont.

Did You Know?
The Treasurer’s Office has instituted a Voluntary Compliance Program. The program 
allows holders who have not surrendered property in a timely manner to come forward 
and voluntarily submit to a process of disclosure and remitting of unclaimed property 
funds—avoiding costly audits, fines and penalties. This incentive to voluntarily comply 
has been quite successful, with 43 holders signing agreements in the 2013 fiscal year. To 
date, an estimated $2,861,459 has been remitted to the State as a result of the program.

Our effort to reunite Vermonters with their 
money is on two fronts.  We work with 
businesses to assist them in turning over 
financial property in a timely fashion in 
order to more quickly return funds to the 
rightful owner.  We also work to notify 
residents about the Unclaimed Property 
Program to urge them to routinely check 
for funds.

Reports are due
 to the Unclaimed Property 

Division from all holders
 before May 1 each year.



Who Must Report Unclaimed Property?

	      All businesses are responsible for filing reports on behalf of their 
branches, divisions or other affiliated entities. Third-Party Administrators (TPAs), 
recordkeepers and paying agents are not obligated to report unclaimed property on 
behalf of a company, but may enter into agreements with the company to do the 
reporting. These agreements do not relieve the business of its statutory responsibil-
ity. The following is a list of the types of businesses required to report unclaimed 
property.

•	 State & Federal Banks
•	 Trust Companies
•	 Savings Banks
•	 Savings & Loan Associations
•	 Credit Unions
•	 Investment Companies

Banking & Financial Organizations

Business Associations Wherever 
Located, Domiciled, or Incorporated

•	 Corporations
•	 Joint Stock Companies
•	 Partnerships
•	 Business Trusts
•	 Cooperatives
•	 Insurance Companies

Utilities Owned or Operated for Public Use
•	 Communications
•	 Electricity
•	 Gas
•	 Water
•	 Steam
•	 Solid Waste Collection

Other Legal Entities
•	 State, County & City Governments
•	 Public Corporations
•	 Nonprofit Organizations
•	 Estates
•	 Trust or other Legal or Commercial Entities

What to Report and When to File
	      The Property Types section in the Unclaimed Property Manual pro-
vides examples of the types of property that are reportable as unclaimed property. 
Unclaimed property must be reported whether due to a Vermont resident or to a 
corporation. Vermont businesses should report unknown owners, items with no ad-
dress, and property where the last known address of the owner is in a foreign coun-
try. Except for Vermont businesses reporting via reciprocity agreements, unclaimed 
property should be reported to the state of the owner’s last known address. Traveler’s 
checks and money orders are reportable to the state where they were purchased. 
Reports are due to the Unclaimed Property Division from all holders before 
May 1 each year. Businesses must include all property that has remained unclaimed 
for the required dormancy period, as of the preceding December 31 of the current 
reporting year. Please consult the “Important Filing Dates” table in the Unclaimed 
Property Holder Manual to identify property eligible for reporting.

Important to Know
	      There is no time limit for a rightful owner to reclaim his or her finan-
cial property. Each year the Treasurer’s Office makes significant efforts to locate 
the owners of unclaimed property. These efforts include advertising, issuing press 
releases, and participating in fairs and forums. The office also maintains a searchable 
online owner database at www.MissingMoney.Vermont.gov. Toll-free inquiries 
from within Vermont about unclaimed property may be made to 1-800-642-3191. 
Unclaimed property owners are never charged to recover their property.  Also, 
business owners and managers should take note that businesses are covered against 
liability on claims for reported property.

Contact
Information
The Unclaimed Property Division of 
the State Treasurer’s Office can be 
reached:

By Phone 

802-828-2407 or

toll-free in Vermont 1-800-642-3191

By Mail  

UPD, 109 State Street, Montpelier, VT 
05609-6200

By E-mail 

UPCompliance@state.vt.us

unclaimedproperty@state.vt.us

Web Site  

www.VermontTreasurer.gov


