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VERMONT VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE PROGRAM 

 
Overview 

Every business entity is required to report unclaimed property assets to the State of Vermont 
annually. As an ongoing effort to promote compliance with the Unclaimed Property Law, The 
State Treasurer's Office has established a Voluntary Compliance Program, which is available for 
the holders that have not been in compliance with the Unclaimed Property Law, but want to 
become compliant. The Voluntary Compliance Program is a one-time unique opportunity for 
Holders to come forward to report their unclaimed property liability without any penalties and 
interest being assessed.  

General Guidelines 

 Eligibility  

Any Holder who wants to comply with the Vermont Unclaimed Property Law is eligible to file 
a Voluntary Compliance Agreement, except when:  
 
- A holder is currently under the Unclaimed Property examination; 
- A holder, which includes any subsidiary and all related parties, has been contacted by 

the State Treasurer's Office or the third party, acting on behalf of the State Treasurer's 
Office of its intent to conduct an unclaimed property examination.  

 
 Look Back Period 

The Holder shall complete a review of its books and records looking back a full10 years, file 
their report beginning with the calendar year 2002, report year 2005, as well as for all 
subsequent report years, and pay over all unclaimed property due to the State of Vermont 
for those years. Should records not be available for the full 10 year period, an extrapolation 
and statistical sampling methodology must be utilized for the missing years. 
 

 Duration of Program 

Under a Voluntary Compliance Agreement, a holder receives six months to complete its 
review, to perform due diligence and to file the report. Six month period extends from the 
date the authorized representative of the Division approves and signs the agreement.  
 

 Examination Provision 

The State of Vermont reserves the right to audit a Holder issued a Voluntary Compliance 
Agreement. Interest and penalty may be assessed pursuant to §1264 of the Vermont 
Unclaimed Property Law on all unclaimed property due for all reporting years, if it is 
determined that the property reported under a Voluntary Compliance Agreement is 
materially under-reported. The State of Vermont reserves the right to fully audit the Holder in 
such case.  
 

 Enrollment 

1. A holder, considering participation in the Voluntary Compliance Program, should request a 
“Voluntary Compliance Agreement” by mail, fax or e-mail.  

Vermont Unclaimed Property Division 
109 State Street 

Montpelier, VT 05609-6200 

Fax: 802-828-2884 
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E-mail: UPCompliance@state.vt.us  
 

 Steps In Brief 
 
Holder’s request to participate shall contain all of the following:  
- Holder’s name, type of business, and primary address 
- List of all subsidiaries and all related party entities participating in the VCP 
- Federal Employer Identification Number for each entity participating 
- Holder contact information 
 

2. Upon confirmation of the eligibility of your company to participate in the Voluntary 
Compliance Program, the Voluntary Compliance Agreement and General Business 
Questionnaire will be mailed to your designated authorized representative.  The Original 
completed agreement and questionnaire must be signed by an authorized officer of your 
organization. 

 
3. Once the original completed and executed Agreement and General Business 

Questionnaire are returned to the Vermont Unclaimed Property Division, the Agreement 
will be reviewed and, if approved, signed by an authorized representative of the Division. 
The holder will then be furnished the special “VCA Unclaimed Property Annual 
Compliance Report and Verification Checklist - Cover Sheet” with the report due date 
printed on the top of the front page. The holder must submit the completed “VCA 
Unclaimed Property Annual Compliance Report and Verification Checklist – Cover Sheet” 
with the Holder Report by the indicated due date in order to avoid assessment of any 
penalties and interest. 
 

4. The State reserves the right to assess interest on any liability being reported under this 
Voluntary Compliance Agreement, if the Agreement has not been received or an extension 
has not been granted within the six-month period.  

 
Important Agreement Considerations   

 
- The Voluntary Compliance Agreement may not be altered without written consent of the 

State.  
 

- The “Original” completed and executed Voluntary Compliance Agreement must be 
returned along with the completed business questionnaire to the Vermont Unclaimed 
Property Division. 

 
- The State of Vermont reserves the right to audit a holder of a Voluntary Compliance 

Agreement after the holder has filed their report and paid over property under the 
Voluntary Compliance Agreement.  

 
- The State of Vermont reserves the right to deny or void the Voluntary Compliance 

Agreement if a holder does not adhere to the Program policies and procedures.  


