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TERM DEFINITION 

ABANDONED/UNCLAIMED PROPERTY Tangible or intangible property unclaimed by its 

rightful owner after a significant period. 

ABANDONMENT (DORMANCY) PERIOD Period of inactivity (from 1 to 5 years based on 

property type) after which property is considered 

abandoned. 

ACTIVITY Action taken on property by the owner including 

making a deposit or a withdrawal, or a memorandum 

of correspondence by the owner to the holder. 

AGGREGATE AMOUNT The amount below which holders need not include the 

name and last known address of the owner with the 

report. The aggregate amount in Vermont is $25.00. 

CUSTODIAN An individual or entity that holds property until it is 

delivered to the rightful owner. Most states' laws make 

the State the "custodian" of the abandoned property. 

DATE OF LAST ACTIVITY Last date of owner-initiated activity on the property or 

owner contact with the holder. 

DUE DILIGENCE Effort a holder of abandoned property is legally 

required to make to find the rightful owner of property 

before the property is remitted to the state. 

ASSET OR HEIR FINDERS Heir finders or asset locators are individuals or 

companies that offer to reunite the apparent owner or 

heirs with unclaimed property, for a fee. 

HOLDER The entity in control of abandoned property until 

transferred to the owner or to the state on owner 

behalf. 

INDEMNIFICATION An agreement that protects the holder from loss by 

transferring the legal responsibilities to a third party 

(the State). 

MISSING OWNER A person who has left an asset somewhere (bank 

account, safe deposit box, payroll check, utility 

deposit, etc.) and cannot be located by the entity 

holding the asset.  

OFFICIAL CHECK A check or written instrument for which a bank, 

financial organization, or business association is 

directly liable, including but not limited to drafts, 

money orders, traveler's checks, cashier's checks, 

expense and payroll checks. 
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OWNER A person having a legal or equitable claim to the 

abandoned property. 

PERSON Any individual, business association, government or 

public subdivision, public corporation or authority, 

estate, trust, two or more persons having a joint or 

common interest; or any other legal or commercial 

entity. 

REPORT Detailed account of owners of unclaimed property 

included as part of annual filing submitted annually by 

the holder - with the remittance of the total property 

value - to the State of Vermont. 

TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY Material property (safe deposit box items, e.g., 

diamond ring, coins, documents). 

UNDERLYING SHARES Shares issued by a business association, bank or other 

financial institution. The original share certificate is in 

the possession of the shareholder, who has failed to 

cash the dividend check or correspond with the 

issuing agency. 

VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE A program allowing holders who previously filed no 

unclaimed property reports to remit abandoned assets 

to all participating states without fear of penalty, fines 

or interest. The Voluntary Compliance Program 

encourages reluctant holders to report abandoned 

funds. 

WARRANTS Uncashed checks issued by state agencies or 

departments. 

 
 


