Skip to main content

National Association of State Treasurers Elects New Leadership for 2018 & Announces 2017 Award Recipients

October 3, 2017

BOSTON— The National Association of State Treasurers (NAST) today announced that it has elected Vermont State Treasurer Beth Pearce as its 2018 President during the association’s annual conference in Boston. Treasurer Pearce will succeed outgoing President Ken Miller, the State Treasurer of Oklahoma, on January 1, 2018.

“I am honored to lead this national network in its next year of transformation and growth,” said Treasurer Beth Pearce during the NAST Annual Conference. “Our country faces a number of fiscal challenges such as an aging infrastructure, rising levels of student debt, a lack of retirement readiness and financial security. NAST plays a crucial role in addressing these issues by promoting sound fiscal policy and best practice that enhances our lives, so I look forward to working with the association during the year ahead to build on this goal.”

Treasurer Pearce has served as Vermont’s State Treasurer since January 2011. She currently serves as the Senior Vice President of the NAST, and is the Past President of the National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators (NAUPA). Alongside Treasurer Pearce, the association also appointed Utah State Treasurer David Damschen, as Senior Vice President of NAST and Massachusetts State Treasurer Deb Goldberg, as Secretary-Treasurer of NAST.

“I would like to thank Treasurer Miller for his leadership over the past year, and congratulate him for receiving NAST’s 2017 Jesse M. Unruh Award this week for his truly exceptional service to the association,” Treasurer Pearce added.

Treasurer Goldberg hosted NAST’s annual conference and presented the 2017 Jesse M. Unruh Award to Treasurer Miller on Monday during the association’s opening ceremony. The award is designated to a current state treasurer for their outstanding service to NAST, the profession and their state.

Additionally, Treasurer Miller presented awards to two state treasures and one corporate affiliate member, including:

Nebraska Treasurer Don Stenberg received the 2017 Harlan Boyles-Edward T. Alter Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes a dedicated public servant whose outstanding career in government has provided a respected voice for NAST at all levels of state government.

Former Washington State Treasurer James McIntire received the 2017 Lucille Maurer Award, which recognizes a former treasurer for their outstanding service to the association.

Jim Haddon, managing director and head of strategic marketing at Ramirez Asset Management, received the 2017 Corporate Affiliate Award, which recognizes a NAST corporate affiliate’s outstanding service to the organization

About NAST

The National Association of State Treasurers seeks to provide advocacy and support that enables member states to pursue and administer sound financial policies and programs benefiting the citizens of the nation. Membership is composed of all state treasurers or state finance officials with comparable responsibilities from the United States, its commonwealths, territories, and the District of Columbia. The private sector is represented through the Corporate Affiliate Program that was established to build professional relationships and foster cooperation between the public and private sectors. The association serves its members through educational conferences and webinars, a variety of working groups, policy advocacy and publications that provide information about developments in public finance.