The Unclaimed Property Division of the Vermont State Treasurer Office reunites Vermont residents with lost and/or abandoned assets. Our database contains over 900,000 properties valued at more than $119 million.
To search for unclaimed property, search the state’s unclaimed property database: www.missingmoney.vermont.gov
What is unclaimed property?
Unclaimed property includes any type of financial asset owed to an individual, business, agency, nonprofit, etc. and in possession of a holder for a specified amount of time without any contact from the “owner” (individual owed the credit, refund, rebate, etc.).
Banks, credit unions, corporations, utilities, insurance agencies, retailers, states and state agencies, brokerage houses and other entities annually report forgotten financial assets including:
- Forgotten bank accounts
- Uncashed pay checks
- Unrefunded security deposits
- Stocks returned by the US Postal Service
- Mutual funds
- Forgotten contents of safe deposit boxes
Forgotten financial assets are reported to unclaimed property departments in all 50 states in the U.S., as well as in the District of Columbia, Canada, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
The Vermont State Treasurer's Office receives these assets and safeguards them until claimed by rightful owners or heirs. Unclaimed property is held in perpetuity until claimed by the owner or the heirs. You never lose your right to claim funds.
Who has unclaimed property?
- Individuals & family heirs
- Nonprofit organizations
How do I claim my Unclaimed Property?
There are multiple ways to claim your property.
First, search the state’s unclaimed property database: www.missingmoney.vermont.gov
- If your property is under $200, and you are the original owner, you may file an online claim, without the need to mail in documentation in most cases. Once approved, your payment will be mailed within two business days.
- If you prefer, you may print your claim form and mail it to our office for processing.
- You may also request a claim form to be sent to you via mail.
All instructions are included on the claim form.
Please note that if you choose not to provide your Social Security Number, you can choose option 2 or 3. Once you file your claim, you may check its status by creating or logging into your account. You will be required to have the claim ID, which can be found at the top right and bottom right of your claim form.
You can always call our office to check the status of your claim or to find out what the best way is to file your claim.
Address: 109 State St, Montpelier, VT 05609
Phone: (802) 828-2407
Toll Free (VT only): (800) 642-3191
How much unclaimed property does the state return?
In fiscal year 2020, the Unclaimed Property Division of the State Treasurer's Office processed 17,600 individual claims totaling more than $4.7 million. This represented cash only, excluding distributions for mutual funds and other securities.
Below you will find:
- Total unclaimed property turned over to the Treasurer's Office annually
- Total unclaimed property returned to Vermonters annually
- Historical data detailing the number of claimants paid annually
Returning unclaimed property is about protecting consumers
The Treasurer's Office works daily to help Vermonters access their missing money. Check out the video below about one Vermonter who located a missing life insurance policy:
Which State Statutes Govern Vermont Unclaimed Property?
All processes for reporting and disbursing unclaimed assets are guided by Vermont Statutes Title 27: Property, Chapter 18: Unclaimed Property.
Stay Informed About Unclaimed Property.
Searching for a lost life insurance policy or payment? Use this Web page to search for lost benefits.
Some Web sites and phone solicitors claiming to want to assist you in obtaining the return your abandoned assets can be fraudulent. Review these helpful tips to evaluate such offers and avoid being defrauded.